God, The Blog

My Twenty-Sixteen Experience

My 2016 experience can be summarised with the scripture ….

Romans 8:28
“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

Tis not up to us to present a timeframe of when we expect things to work out.
Neither are we in the position to propose a date as to when we want things to work out …

This scripture required me to trust God 100% and to have patience …
To not become irritated when it seemed there were more problems than solutions, but rather to remain calm, pray and hold on to his word. 

Indeed things worked out and reflecting back on the issues, I can honestly say that everything that happened benefited me more than it harmed me. Although at the time, I didn’t see it this way. I complained the most and made a big fuss. At times, I found myself not doing the things I usually do when things are going well. Which made me ask myself a few questions ( I like asking myself questions )

– Am I as stable as I think I am?

– Do I love God for who He is, or what He can do for me ?

Anyways ! I always ended up feeling silly and really apologetic to God once everything came together.

Which brings me on to something else I’ve learnt ! To watch what I say and say less when I find myself going through situations. This is not to say that I shouldn’t allow myself to feel things, I must feel things, I am human after all. However, there’s no need for me to allow my feelings to dictate what I say or how I act. 

Note to self : don’t just know the scriptures for the sake of knowing them, apply them practically. Especially in trying times

Standard

One thought on “My Twenty-Sixteen Experience

Leave a comment